Daily Archives: January 29, 2014

Random Thoughts ~ Watching my world unthaw

TheTinyHearth-Random-Thoughts-Gratitude 250x161

As many of you have probably heard already, the deep south was hit with a winter storm yesterday that paralyzed several states as it made its way across the south.  Draco and I live in one of those states that are unaccustomed to seeing much winter weather.

Yesterday evening, I made the (normally) half hour trip to take him to work.  It took me almost an hour to get him there and more than that to get back home, amid ice, snow and sliding cars.  Making the trip back to pick him up at 4:30 am was even more treacherous.  There wasn’t as much traffic, but there were cars off the side of the road everywhere and black ice covered almost the entire stretch from our house to his work.

This morning, the sun is shining and the world is beginning the process of melting off the winter cloak that we see so rarely in the south.

If I had a decent camera on my phone, I’d have taken some pictures, but a good phone is one of the many things awaiting the tax return check.

It’s hard to believe that Imbolc is right around the corner.  I’ve been trying to pin myself down to write a post about the upcoming holiday, but it’s been so cold that it’s hard to think about warmth right now and the post has sat undone so far.  I’m hoping to get it up before the holiday since I know we will be celebrating it in our own way, cold or not.

For today though, I believe it will sit yet again as I watch my world thaw and recover and hopefully I’ll be able to “get in the zone” to write it before the weekend.

I hope you are all safe, warm and happy.

Blessings,

Fae Moon

Enhanced by Zemanta
My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

a north east ohio garden

an ongoing experiment in the dirt, 35 plus years

Morrighan's Trove

Redefining The Occult World!

Little Druid on the Prairie

Polytheist Musings from the Texas Blackland Prairie

Where Spirit Stops

Everything Happens.

Misty's Laws

Lawyer. Blogger. Smartass.

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

In Our Stars

The random posts of Violet Flammel

lightlycrunchy

returning to simple living

Author M. A. Phillips

Home of the Ditzy Druid

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

a north east ohio garden

an ongoing experiment in the dirt, 35 plus years

Morrighan's Trove

Redefining The Occult World!

Little Druid on the Prairie

Polytheist Musings from the Texas Blackland Prairie

Where Spirit Stops

Everything Happens.

Misty's Laws

Lawyer. Blogger. Smartass.

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

In Our Stars

The random posts of Violet Flammel

lightlycrunchy

returning to simple living

Author M. A. Phillips

Home of the Ditzy Druid

Witchcraft From Scratch

Piecing Together a Practical American-Southern Heathenry With Seiðr, Hoodoo, Powwow, Tribal Gatherings, Soul Travel, Ancestral Lore, and Comfort Food

Sips of Jen and Tonic

Writing that's straight up with a twist

Miss Four Eyes

Seeing twice as much absolutely counts as a super power.

Stone of Destiny

Musings of a Polytheistic Nature

Words and Herbs

For all who appreciate the beauty of words, flowers and homecooking

The Kitchen's Garden

Sustainable. Self Sufficient. Loving the Land. Join Us!

Girl and the Kitchen

Good Food. Done Right.

The Ramblings of Hearth Witch

Merry Meet and Merry Part and Merry Meet Again!